Theresa-G


Theresa-G

About
Theresa-G


Teacher introduction

Home stay teaching is a great way to learn English as I can focus on your specific needs and the two of us can build a strong relationship. I have a dedicated and well equipped classroom where you will have your lessons. Before I became an English teacher, I was a primary school teacher in a local school for six years. There were many children whose native tongue was not English so I have a great deal of experience in helping students learn the language. In my first career I was an IT specialist and I worked for a multinational company for 17 years. I speak German.
Teacher home details
I live in a three bedroom, detached house with a garden. It is a semi rural location, just outside the town of Wokingham, in the county of Berkshire in south east England. Wokingham is a bus ride away from local cities and towns such as Reading, Bracknell and Windsor. Wokingham is a pretty market town with an interesting architectural heritage. Some buildings date from the 16th century and the town used to be known for the production of silk. Today the town is known for its many restaurants! Things to visit include a sports centre, an entertainment centre with a bowling alley, a ski slope and skating rink, an adventure and activity park and a wildlife and country park.
Teacher qualifications text
I am a qualified primary school teacher (PGCE). I have a degree in Psychology. I have a HND in Electronics.
Teacher about the local area
If you like horse racing, you can go to the famous race course at Ascot and if you like rowing you could go the regatta at Henley. An interesting excursion would be to go to Windsor and see the castle which is the largest inhabited castle in the world with a history going back 1,000 years. It is an attractive town with nice shops and eating places. The lively city of Oxford is nearby and is worth visiting to see the ancient university colleges; to explore the excellent museums; and visit the many places of historical interest. The Hall at Christchurch College was used as a location in the Harry Potter books. If you would like to go shopping, a visit to Reading is ‘must do’ as it is one of the best retail destinations in England. If you would like to see the sights and attractions of London then we could catch the train and enjoy a great day out.
Teacher family

I live with my husband, John. He is an IT specialist in the corporate banking sector. He is very keen on skiing. He likes cycling and gardening. We have one son (1995). He is interested in IT and enjoys computer gaming. His favourite sports are skiing and cricket and he also likes socialising with friends. We have two dogs (Border Collies).

Description of how to get here by public transport
From Heathrow Airport, take the bus to Reading (about 40 minutes) where I will be waiting for you. There is a direct train from Gatwick Airport to Reading that takes about 60 minutes. From London, take a train from Paddington station to Reading (20 minutes) or from Waterloo station to Wokingham (about one hour). The drive from Reading to my home takes 20 minutes.
Teacher hobbies and interests
I like cooking and gardening. I enjoy cycling and skiing. I am keen on reading. I have always been interested in gymnastics and do some coaching.
Photos