Susan S


Central England

About
Susan S


My name is Susan and I would like to welcome you to The Brambles, a smallholding where self sufficiency is the main objective. I share my small farm with rare breed sheep, pigs, chicken and goats, and help my son run his nearby 200 acre mixed farm. In addition, I am a keen ornithologist and regularly run bird ringing sessions on local nature reserves. During term time I teach at a local school, specialising in students with dyslexia.

No smoking Wifi available at home Horse riding available
No smoking WiFi available Horse riding available

Location information:

Location: Banbury, Oxfordshire | View a map of this location

Nearest airport with transfer cost: Birmingham (BHX) £120

London airport(s) with transfers cost: 

Gatwick (LGW) £ 260

Heathrow (LHR) £ 180

Nearest railway station: Banbury

Ask about this teacher

Academic information

I am a qualified teacher with a degree in education. I have taught general subjects at KS2 and  music and special needs for older students. My teaching career has been varied and wide ranging including hosting students from France and Japan.

Courses taught

Family information

Although I have four children, all in their 20’s, it is just my youngest who now lives at home with me. She is currently in her final year of a Photography degree with Plymouth Universtity. My son runs the family farm which is less than 500m from my home and he is interested in all things ‘farm’ and tractors. My eldest daughter lives and works in Oxford as facilitator of student summer courses and the second eldest daughter is a police officer and lives in Stratford Upon Avon. My family visit me regularly. Also in my home is our dog Oscar, a friendly Cairn Terrier. My interest is in developing my smallholding and striving towards self sufficiency. There is always a job that needs doing outside or when the weather is unpleasant, I enjoy making preserves, cheese making and cooking. I will encourage my students to join me on the nature reserves monitoring bird nests and bird ringing.

Susan’s photos

About the teacher’s accommodation

I live in a detached three bedroom bungalow set in a rural landscape. Students will be offered a large double bedroom with a view overlooking open countryside. There is just one shared bathroom. The village is approximately 2 km away.

 

About the local area

The countryside in my area is quite beautiful, with rolling hills, offering lots of opportunities for walking and cycling. My village is small but is lucky enough to have its own swimming pool. There is an equestrian centre and several golf courses. The nearest town, Chipping Norton, is 11 km away and is regarded as The Gateway to the Cotswolds. It has a charming market square, shops, a theatre and large sports centre.

Excursions available with this teacher

 

Day trip to Stratford Upon Avon – Walk around the historic town of Stratford Upon Avon and visit the home of William Shakespeare.

Cost: Free

Day trip to Oxford – Walk around the university city of Oxford, visiting colleges and museums.

Cost: Free

Family Fun Ten Pin Bowling – Visit Banbury Ten Pin Bowling Alley followed by pizza.

Cost: Free

Day trip to London – Itinerary to be devised with student.

Cost: £30 transport cost

Day trip to Blenheim Palace – Visit the stately home of Winston Churchill and enjoy a walk around the grounds with afternoon tea in the town of Woodstock.

Cost: £45