Sandra D


London

About
Sandra D


I am a Mathematics teacher and I live with my husband and baby son in a multicultural area close to central London. Our flat is located off a busy high street in a very quiet road and with our own private garden in the back. My husband and I love meeting new people and experiencing other cultures and I have been an exchange student myself when I was at school. We also enjoy playing sports (I really like volleyball) and walking. With our car we are able to leave the busy London life behind for trips to the seaside or forests. Alternatively, using public transport, we can get to the city centre in less than 30 minutes and easily reach all sights, landmarks and museums.

No smoking No pets at home Children at home Wifi available at home Teacher pick-up from airport
No smoking No pets Children at home WiFi available Teacher transfer

Location information

Location: Shepherd’s Bush, London | View a map of this location

London airport(s) with transfers cost: 

Gatwick (LGW) £120

Heathrow (LHR) £100

Nearest railway station: Shepherd’s Bush

Ask about this teacher

Academic information

I am a qualified teacher of mathematics and currently teach in a secondary school in West London. As a teacher I have experience in teaching Mathematics to students with English as a foreign language. I have studied Mathematics for more than 10 years, including a Bachelor’s and Master’s degree in Germany (I am German) and a PhD in the UK.

Courses taught

Family information

I live with my husband (in his 30’s) and our baby son (2018). We are both from Germany but have lived in the UK since 2011. My husband is a Data Scientist and when he is at home and not playing with our son  he often likes to learn more about data science. Otherwise he enjoys sports, in particular running and cycling. Our baby boy was born in February and is growing very fast. He does not do much yet, but is a joy to be around with. We both enjoy being physically active by doing a range of sports such as cycling, running, playing volleyball, tennis, table tennis and more. We also like going for walks in nearby parks or in the countryside outside of London. We are members of the National Trust which gives us free or reduced entry to many parks and sights in the UK and we would be happy to take you with us on such a visit. When we are at home we are also reading and learning a lot about many things that interest us such as education, programming and parenting. Furthermore, we enjoy the company of other people and often have friends and family visiting. Whenever I have the time I also like to cook or bake and occasionally

Sandra’s photos

About the teacher’s accommodation

We have a two-bedroom flat in a quiet road off a busy high street with many shops and restaurants and a local market. There are many bus routes and two tube stations nearby. At the end of our road is a small and beautiful park for short walks. Your room is a spacious double bedroom. Our living room has an open plan kitchen. In the living room we have a table to dine and work, a couch for watching television and a reading area. The living room has access to a private garden. We have one shared bathroom. You will have access to WiFi.

 

About the local area

We live in Shepherd’s Bush in London which is a very multicultural area. It has excellent transport links to London’s city centre which you can reach in less than 30 minutes. Our flat is located in a typical British road with a small park at the end for quiet walks and a free tennis court. At the other end of our road you have a busy high street with a local market, many restaurants and shops. We also live 5 minutes away from Europe’s biggest shopping centre ‘Westfield’ which also has a cinema. Within 5 minutes of our flat there is also a library, a theatre and a live music venue. There are two sports centres nearby, both of which have a pool for swimming. Last but not least there are the countless sights and museums of London that you can easily visit while you are here.

Excursions available with this teacher

London Sightseeing – We will see many of the main attractions of London to give you an overview of where you might to spend more time.

Cost: Free

Visit an attraction in London – We will go to an attraction of your choice in London. This can be the Tower of London, the London Dungeon, Sea Life London, the London Eye, Madame Tussaud’s or something else.

Cost: Free

Cambridge – We will visit the city of Cambridge which is best known for its university and its architecture. Taking a tour around the university, we will get to see many of the different colleges of the university.

Cost: Free

Portobello Market and Notting Hill – We will take a stroll through the famous district ‘Notting Hill’ taking in the special atmosphere of this fairly affluent part of London. We will spend a considerable amount of time exploring one of London’s best known markets, Portobello Market.

Cost: Free

Hampstead Heath and Kenwood House – Visiting the one of London’s largest parks we will be able to walk through woodlands, grasslands and enjoy a fabulous view of London’s skyline (which is so good that it is even protected by law). The park is home to Kenwood House, which we will see, too.

Cost: Free