Roisin O


Republic of Ireland

About
Roisin O


My name is Roisin and I am Irish. I live in Dublin on the east coast of Ireland beside the Irish sea and I have a holiday home on the west coast of Ireland beside the Atlantic ocean. I live with my two daughters, one is 21 and the other is 16. I also have a cocker spaniel and two adorable kittens.

I used to be a writer/presenter for children’s television in Ireland and later I went on to become a French and Music teacher in primary schools. More recently have I have gained the CELT (ESL) and teach English to children, students and adults alike.

I love my job because I love language and foreign cultures. I love meeting new people and I have become great friends with some of my former students and in the case of the younger children I have become great friends with some of their parents. I created a job out of my talents. If you come to my house you will have to like music! My two daughters and I sing and invariably there is always one of us singing in the house or sometimes all three of us!

No smoking Children at home Private bathroom available Wifi available at home Teacher pick-up from airport
No smoking Children at home Private bathroom WiFi available Airport pick-up

Location information

Location: Dublin, Ireland | View a map of this location

Nearest airport(s): Dublin (DUB) 40 minutes

Nearest railway station: Glenageary

Ask about this teacher

Academic information

Being a television/radio writer/presenter was great fun and gave me confidence that I would later use standing up in front of a class. I also had the opportunity to write and use original material which was a challenge and rewarding. I have a 1er degré from the Allliance Francaise in French. I currently teach French to primary school children.

Courses taught

Family information

I have two daughters who live with me. One daughter (1999) is at school. She adores music and singing. The other daughter (1993) is a university student studying economics and French. She also adores music and singing and she even sings professionally.

I, like my daughters, love music and singing. I also play tennis, do zumba, love walking by the sea and I go hillwalking at weekends.

Rosin’s photos

 

About the teacher’s accommodation

My home in Dublin is five minutes from the sea. It is also only twenty minutes from mountains. So we have the best of both worlds. I live in a small town called Dun Laoghaire which has all the shops, banks, post offices, banks, pharmacies, bars and restaurant one would expect from a town. As it is only a short twenty minute train journey to the center of Dublin this is also another option for socialising as Dublin is full of great night life and great shopping and cultural activities to explore during the day.

My home in Mayo is a beach house and so is only yards from a beautiful blue flag beach. There is also a forest at the end of the beach.

About the local area

My house in Dublin has transport right outside. There are buses that go regularly to the center of Dublin. There is also an electrified railway line (DART) twelve minutes walk from the house which also goes to town and all the way around Dublin bay!

Dublin is a small city so very easy to get around. Once in the center it is possible to walk everywhere. It is a very friendly buzzing place with a lot of music and laughter.

Excursions you can take with your teacher

Excursion One (Cost: ?) – Short description and details.

Excursion Two (Cost: ?) – Short description and details.

Excursion Three (Cost: ?) – Short description and details.

Excursion Four (Cost: ?) – Short description and details.

Excursion Five (Cost: ?) – Short description and details.

What our students say