Richard W


London

About
Richard W


My wife Sue and I live in a large, modernised cottage with a big garden in the southern suburbs of London. We have been hosting students successfully for five years, and they seem to enjoy our particular brand of friendly hospitality. Our guest book is full of kind comments from satisfied customers! I have a background in book publishing, corporate training, and video and multimedia production.

No smoking No pets at home Private bathroom available Teacher pick-up from airport Wifi available at home
No smoking No pets at home Private bathroom Teacher transfer WiFi available

Location information

Location: Wallington, Surrey | View a map of this location

London airport(s) with transfers cost: 

Gatwick (LGW) £60

Heathrow (LHR) £120

Nearest railway station: Purley

Ask about this teacher

Academic information


I have an ESOL CELTA 5 qualification and a degree in English from Bristol University. I spent the summer of 2011 working at a school in Eastbourne, and part of the following summer teaching near Brighton. For the last five years I have taught homestay students on a one-to-one basis.

Courses taught

Family information


My wife Sue and I enjoy food, wine, conversation, theatre, art galleries, country walks, and visits to our two children, who are both married and living locally. We grow a lot of our own vegetables in our garden, and both enjoy cooking and hosting barbecues in the summer. Sue plays tennis regularly at a local sports club, and I play a weekly round of golf. We regularly go on long country walks. I have a classic MGB car, and enjoy driving it around the local area, visiting country houses and parks.

Richard’s Photos

About the teacher’s accommodation


We live in a large, modernised cottage in a residential suburb of South London. You can walk in 20 minutes to the local towns of Purley and Wallington. You can also walk into the countryside and to local parks. We have one double, one twin and one small single bedroom available, with a separate bathroom for student use only.

About the local area


We are a 20-minute walk away from Purley railway station, and that is 30 minutes to Victoria station in central London. The area around us is residential, and there are parks and countryside to enjoy, as well as a few small towns. It is easy to get to the West End of London, with its museums, art galleries, exhibitions, theatres, restaurants and nightlife. Sue is a member of a tennis and sports club, with a gym, fitness classes and swimming pools. I am a member at two local golf clubs. Horse-riding is available locally.

Excursions you can take with your teacher

Sightseeing trip to London – We would take train to London Bridge. Walk through Borough Market, see historic ship Golden Hind, visit Tate Modern, see St Paul’s Cathedral, take bus down Strand, visit National Gallery in Trafalgar Square, then bus back to Victoria via Westminster.

Cost: Travelcard £12; entry to St Paul’s optional £18; snacks or drinks extra

Sightseeing trip to Covent Garden in London – We would take train to Victoria. Walk past Buckingham Palace, through Green Park into Piccadilly. See Piccadilly Circus and Regent Street and visit Chinatown. See the buskers and street market in Covent Garden and return via Victoria.

Cost: Travelcard £12; snacks and drinks extra

Trip to Stately Home – Drive in a classic MGB to Polesden Lacey, a magnificent National Trust house and garden. Have tea and cake in the gardens (weather permitting).

Cost: Free

Shopping trip to Croydon – Take the bus to Croydon and visit the Whitgift shopping centre with its well-known stores and brands. Have a coffee or drink in the historic Spread Eagle pub.

Cost: Free

Country walk with pub – Drive in a classic MGB to the country and do a 3-mile walk to a country pub.

Cost: Free