Ralston M


London

About
Ralston M


Hello, my name is Ralston Maas and I have been teaching for 20 years at high school level to students between the ages of 11 to 18 years. I live in North London with my wife Sherine and have two grown up children. I love all types of music and play the guitar. I am a coach in many sports and you will be welcome to join me at my tennis and squash club. We make the most of living in London, and our home will be a fantastic base for someone to learn English and experience London’s vibrant culture.

No smoking No pets at home Private bathroom available Teacher pick-up from airport Wifi available at home
No smoking No pets at home Private bathroom Teacher transfer WiFi available

Location information

Location: Enfield, London | View a map of this location

Nearest airport(s): London Heathrow (LHR) 60 min; London City (LCY) 45 min; London Luton (LTN) 45 min; London Stansted (STN) 40 min

Nominated transfer location(s): London Heathrow (LHR); London City (LCY); London Luton (LTN); London Stansted (STN)

Nearest railway station: Oakwood, London

Ask about this teacher

Academic information


Before becoming a teacher I was a sports coach in local leisure centres. I have a BA (Hon) Degree in Secondary Education and Physical Education with Religious Studies and a  Certificate In Education. I am also a coach in a number of sports including football, badminton, netball, trampoline and weightlifting.

Courses taught

Family information

I live at home with my wife Sherine who is an HR professional and works from home. She is a great reader, swimmer and loves the theatre and cinema. She’s also a great cook. My daughter lives in Spain and my son is in his 20’s and lives at home but his work as a sound engineer for international sporting events takes him abroad a lot. He loves music, cinema and plays the guitar; he’s a great gamer and has friends over often. We have an open friendly and welcoming home, many family and friends live locally and visit often. I am very active and play squash and swim regularly. I also follow my football team Tottenham Hotspur and you would be welcome to join me in all of these activities. I play the guitar and love to go to live concerts in local venues as well as big concerts in London. I am a keen reader of philosophy and history. I love visiting London’s many musuems and galleries and have a friend who is a qualified London tour guide who has introduced me to many of London’s many hidden treasures through London walking tours.

Ralston’s Photos

About the teacher’s accommodation


Our home is a very welcoming 4 bedroom house, with a large family lounge, a separate ‘den’ for chilling out, playing music or gaming, and an office for working.  You will have your own bedroom and private bathroom on the ground floor. We have a lovely large garden backing onto fields where the horses graze.

About the local area


We are 30 minutes away from the centre of London on the Underground, so visiting London’s famous musuems, galleries, resturants, modern and historical sites, is very accessible. We feel we have the best of both worlds as we are close to a large country park, with wonderful walks, adventure-activities where groups explore the forest canopy via a treetop rope course, and local horse riding. The local public golf course is in the same location, with both 9, 18 and pitch and putt options. Our local town centre has a variety of shops, market square, cafes, pubs and a variety of resturants..

Excursions you can take with your teacher

London City Tour – A walking tour of some of London’s famous city landmarks with a London City Guide – see http://www.benscitytours.com/ Ben is an engaging and entertaining guide and will take us to both famous and secret London sites.

Cost: Free

Tour or match at football premiership club – A stadium tour of Tottenham Hotspur football club and depending whether in season opportunity to go to a match – see http://www.tottenhamhotspur.com/stadium-tours/classic-tours/

Cost: Stadium tours – adults £20, juniors £9. Match tickets vary in price depending on game.

Evening of live music – An evening of live music at one of our local pubs or arts centres where we can spend an evening with friends. This gives the student a chace to meet others socially and enjoy some of local London culture.

Cost: Free

Sports and leisure activities – Tennis, Squash, swimming and use of a gym can all be arranged at Tutor’s club. We can go 10 pin bowling with friends and there is a local golf course and equestrian centre within walking distance of our home.

Cost: Free

Trent Country Park – A haven for wildlife and humans alike Trent Country Park is within walking distance our our home. The Wildlife Rescue & Ambulance Service (WRAS) is located within the Park and is open to visitors – see http://trentcountrypark.com/Welcome.html

Cost: Free