Philippa C


South England

About
Philippa C


Hello, my name is Philippa and I live in a terraced, Victorian house on the edge of Frome. I have been teaching English for over 10 years both in the UK and in many countries abroad. I have helped students prepare for examinations such as KET, PET, Trinity, First certificate and IELTS. I have also taught Business English. I very much enjoy teaching and I look forward to not only helping you improve your English but also to showing you this beautiful and interesting part of the country.

No smoking No pets at home Private bathroom available Wifi available at home Teacher pick-up from airport
No smoking No pets Private bathroom WiFi available Teacher transfer

Location information

Location: Frome, Somerset | View a map of this location

Nearest airport(s): Bristol Airport (BRS) 45 min; Southampton Airport (SOU) 90 mins

Nominated airport(s) for transfers: Bristol Airport (BRS)

London Heathrow transfer supplement: +£80 one-way

Nearest railway station: Frome

Ask about this teacher

Academic information

I have a degree in Counselling and gained my teaching Diploma in Thailand where I worked for 18 months. I have taught also in Spain,Saudi Arabia, India, Sri Lanka and here, in the UK. Apart from General English, I can teach Business and exam-based English.

Courses taught

Family information

I live alone so you can be sure of a quiet and peaceful environment. However I do have 4 adult children who live quite close by and you can meet them if you would like. I have 4 grandsons (two of whom are 2-year-old twins) and a granddaughter.Our interests are mostly walking and enjoying the beautiful countryside. My sons are very keen footbal fans who support Southampton. My interests include yoga, singing in a choir, helping with a charity supporting refugees, the environment and walking. There is a good sports centre in the town where I attend classes or swim.

Philippa’s photos

About the teacher’s accommodation

My home has 3 bedrooms on three floors. Your room is on the first floor and your private bathroom is on the ground floor. Your room is comfortable with 2 single beds which can also be joined for a double bed, a table, chair and wardrobe. I have a garden where you can sit – when it is warm enough. My house is on the edge of Frome and so you can walk in the countryside from my door or walk into the town (10 minutes).

 

About the local area

Frome is a small town but has a cinema, sports centre with a swimming pool, a number of music venues and art galleries. You will not find many large chain stores here but most shops are independently owned and therefore you can take an interesting wander through the town. Bath, Bristol and Salisbury are all within a 20-30 minute drive away too. If you are interested in history and archeology there are a number of iron age hill forts in the area, and of course the famous Stonehenge is easily accessible.

Excursions available with this teacher

Discover Bath – We can visit the famous Roman baths, explore the Georgian architecture, visit the abbey with perhaps a river trip.

Cost: £13 – £20 depending on age

Stonehenge – Visit this ancient stone circle, then to Old Sarum and Salisbury with its famous cathedral.

Cost: £13 -£15

Weymouth Seaside Trip – Walk along the esplanade, sit in the park and listen to a band, build sandcastles!

Cost: Free

Walk around Frome – A guided walk to take in the best bits of Frome.

Cost: Free

Explore Bristol – Choose from a number of activities depending on the weather but could include a visit to S.S. Gt Britain, Science museum, etc.

Cost: Free