Pauline C


South England

About
Pauline C


I am a teacher of English language and have been teaching for over 12 years, to students of different ages and levels in the UK and Italy. I have prepared students for Cambridge exams (KET, PET, FCE) and IELTS. I am passionate about bringing out the student’s full potential. I also like teaching at home because I can meet interesting people from different cultures. As well as teaching English, I have taught Science for over 20 years (up to GCSE and A-Level) and I also teach medical and scientific English. I speak Italian.

No smoking Private bathroom available Wifi available at home
No smoking Private bathroom WiFi available

Location information

Location: Yapton, West Sussex | View a map of this location

Nearest airport(s): London Gatwick (LGW) 90 minutes

Nominated airport(s) for transfers: Gatwick (LGW)

Heathrow airport supplement: +£40 one-way

Nearest railway station: Barnham

Ask about this teacher

Academic information


I hold the Trinity Cert TESOL to teach English as a foreign language. I have a degree in Applied Biology and have taught in secondary education (PGCE in Biology). I am a coach in Science.

Courses taught

 Family information


My partner is Dr Hugh Trevor. He has his own house and spends some of his time here with me. He is a retired Biology lecturer who now spends his time writing technical aircraft articles for two well-known magazines. He is also a member of the lightening aircraft restoration group who own three lightening aircraft housed in Leicester. Furthermore he has his own lightening cockpit which he is restoring at a museum in Salisbury and volunteers at an aircraft museum locally.
He enjoys the theatre and walking.
My adult daughter, Maxine, is a teaching assistant and lives nearby, visiting frequently. Our cat is called Casper.

I love cooking and trying out new recipes from around the world. I have an allotment where I grow vegetables which I use when cooking. I am interested in things to do with science and nature and was a Research Scientist for 14 years. I enjoy sport. One of the sports I regularly play is stoolball which is an old form of cricket played by women.

Pauline’s Photos

About the teacher’s accommodation


I live in a modern, four bedroomed detached house in a quiet cul-de-sac. You will have your own double bedroom and private bathroom, which has a toilet, bath and shower. There is a conservatory leading out into the back garden.
I live in the heart of the Sussex countryside, in a small village called Yapton, in the south east of England. The village has a selection of shops, a pub and a village green. It is a small and friendly community. There is a bus stop very close to the house and and the train station is a 10 minute walk. It is possible to go for long walks or to cycle across the countryside or along by the sea.

About the local area


Arundel is an old, historic town. It has a castle, a cathedral, river walks, a boating lake, an outdoor swimming pool, mini golf, tennis courts and a bird sanctuary. In August there is an arts festival with attractions and musical events. The festival ends with a large firework display.
The seaside town of Bognor Regis (10 minutes) has beaches and the usual seaside attractions such as crazy golf and attracts many English tourists in the summer months.
Littlehampton is another seaside town nearby and has a small boating lake and a funfair. The River Arun acts as a mooring for many yachts.
Chichester (20 minutes) is an old, walled, cathedral city with high class shops and cultural venues. A few minutes away is Chichester harbour – a major marina.
Cosmopolitan Brighton (50 minutes by train) offers a nice contrast to the picturesque places along the coast. London is also an option.

 

Excursions available with this teacher

Eastbourne seafront – Take a walk (up to 4 miles) along the seafront at Eastbourne. Stroll along the pier, see a traditional bandstand, visit the Lifeboat Museum and visit a Napoleonic era Martello Tower. Have a picnic lunch on the beach.

Cost: Free

Beachy Head – Walk or take a bus from Eastbourne to Beachy Head. The walk is 1.5 miles approximately and has a moderately steep climb. Take in the views from the top of the UK’s highest chalk cliffs. Visit the Beachy Head Countryside Visitor Centre.

Cost: Free

Eastbourne Redoubt Fortress Museum, Pavilion and Towner Art Gallery – See the free exhibition at the Pavilion and the Redoubt Fortress Museum on the seafront followed by a visit to the Towner Art Gallery.

Cost: Free

Day trip to Brighton – Take the train to Brighton. Go shopping in the popular North Laine area, visit the famous Royal Pavilion, take a walk along the seafront and pier or take a ride up BA i360 (the world’s tallest moving tower).

Cost: up to £40

Day trip to London – Take the train to London. There is so much to see and do. Some popular choices are to see Buckingham Palace, the Tower of London, the Natural History Museum, the British Museum, the Tate Modern Art Gallery, Covent Garden and so on.

Cost: £30 – £40 minimum

What our students say