Olyn J


Central England

About
Olyn J


I am a vibrant qualified teacher who has 25 years experience of teaching at secondary school level. I have three sons; two of them have graduated from University and the youngest is currently pursuing his second year at university. My family and I are very caring and hospitable people. I have a very clean and tidy home. I am very flexibly about diet needs of  my guests and I can accommodate their needs. My son who helps me in catering for my hosts has a degree in Human Nutrition  has got health eating awareness and can prepare healthy meals for my guests. Students health and safety is one of my main objectives. I am aware of homesickness and social isolation that students experience and therefore I always treat them as part of the family. i sit with my guests at meal times and involve them in conversations. My house is very close to many transport routes.

No smoking No pets at home Wifi available at home Teacher pick-up from airport
No smoking No pets WiFi available Teacher transfer

Location information

Location: South Ockendon, Essex | View a map of this location

Nearest airport with transfer cost: Stansted (STN) £120

London airport(s) with transfers cost: 

Gatwick (LGW) £180

Heathrow (LHR) £160

Nearest railway station: Ockendon

Ask about this teacher

Academic information

I am a qualified teacher with a UK accreditation. I have a BA (Hons) Education studies  and a Post Graduate Certificate in Education (PGCE) with Qualified Teachers Status (QTS). I have a vast experience experience of hosting students  from France and Spain for tuition. I am very confident about my teaching styles.

Courses taught

Family information

We have a son 1993 who enjoys cooking and loves gymnastics, very sociable  and has excellent interpersonal skills. We also a son 1999 who is currently at  the university and comes home on school holiday, he is a typical student who enjoys playing on his xbox, gymnastics and enjoys going to the theatre. My husband is sociable and he occasionally  comes with us  on short trips with my guest  as site seeing is one of the things he enjoys most. Visiting places and site seeing is one thing we enjoy most as a family, our guests are welcome to join us on that, adding on that my two sons enjoy gymnastics which we can arrange for interested guests to join them. For the guests that might be interested in theatre can join my son who loves it.

Olyn’s photos

About the teacher’s accommodation

My house has four bedrooms with single beds, which can accommodate one to two people, a bathroom with shower and two toilets, a kitchen with a dishwasher , washing machine and drier, an open plan lounge, dinning room and conservatory with internet, flat screen TV and study area. There is a small garden at rear.

 

About the local area

Essex Thurrock is a lively area. There is a large shopping maul and a vast of activities which may include:
– Horse ridding in Knightplace Farrm which is about 10 minutes drive away
– Swimming facilities is 2 miles away and about 5 minutes drive away there is karting grounds
– A gym within the neighbourhood.

Excursions available with this teacher

Swimming – Afternoon tea, visit the shopping maul or a walk in the sea side.

Cost: £20

Trip to London – Visiting the Science Museum and other enmities depending on what the guest wants.

Cost: £50

Horse riding – Horse riding, a walk in the country side and lunch in the pub.

Cost: £30

Seaside visit – Walk on the seaside and fun rides followed by dinner of choice.

Cost: £50