Nichola A


London

About
Nichola A


My name is Nichola and I am currently Head of “English as an Additional Language” at a British Boarding School near London. My job is to help international students reach the same level of fluency as a native British student. I am married to a university lecturer and have two children and we live 10 miles (16km) to the west of central London. My family is sporty & musical. I live in a great location with easy access to the city centre.

No smoking No pets at home Children at home Private bathroom available Wifi available at home Teacher pick-up from airport
No smoking No pets Children at home Private bathroom WiFi available Teacher transfer

Location information

Location: Hanwell, London | View a map of this location

Nearest airport(s): London Heathrow Airport (LHR) 30 mins; London Gatwick Airport (LGW) 60 mins

Nominated airport(s) for transfers: Heathrow (LHR); Gatwick (LGW)

Nearest railway station: Hanwell

Ask about this teacher

Academic information

I have an excellent track record teaching Cambridge examinations (KET, PET, FCE, CAE) and academic English for IELTS. I have been teaching for over 20 years’, working with children, high school students, adults, diplomats and business professionals.

Courses taught

Family information

I have a fantastic family. My Italian husband teaches history at a London university and is also an excellent cook. My two children are very sporty. My son (born 2006) swims and plays tennis and football for local teams. My daughter (born 2008) also swims and plays tennis & hockey and loves gymnastics and dance. Both play the piano. I love running and run marathons. I am a very active person and enjoy swimming, cycling & tennis alongside running. My guests are welcome to join me in any of these activities, and I’m also happy to try new things. I also have a degree in Art History from a British university and enjoy visiting galleries, museums and exhibitions.

 

Nichola’s photos

About the teacher’s accommodation

We live in a recently remodelled Victorian terraced house with 5 double bedrooms. The guest room has its own private bathroom (shower & toilet), TV and internet and is separate from the family accommodation. There is use of a bright and spacious downstairs kitchen & dining area, garden and laundry room.

About the local area

I live in a quiet, pretty street in a green and leafy suburb of West London. My friendly neighbourhood has great restaurants, cafés, bars and shops. There are several parks close by and a good selection of sports facilities. There are nice walks alongside The Grand Union Canal. The River Thames and Royal Botanic Gardens at Kew are 3 miles away. The centre of London, with all its attractions, can be reached in 20 minutes by train or Tube, There
is a very good bus service. London Heathrow airport can be reached in under 30 minutes.

 

Excursions available with this teacher

London central landmarks. A Full or Half Day Trip – A walking tour of central sights such as Piccadilly Circus, Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square.

Cost: Free

Arty London. A Full or Half Day Trip – A visit to the iconic Tate Modern Art Museum with a “pie” by the River Thames near Tower Bridge.

Cost: Free

Kensington outing. A Full or Half Day Trip – Experience Kensington with a visit to a choice of The Natural History, Science or Victoria & Albert Museum.

Cost: Free

A boat trip on the river Thames – A 2 hour boat trip from Richmond to Hampton Court Palace taking in beautiful British scenery along.

Cost: £20 approximately

A shopping expedition with refreshments – A trip to the major shopping destinations of Oxford Street or Westfield for retail therapy.

Cost: £10