Michelle M


Central England

About
Michelle M


I am a teacher of English as a foreign language. I really enjoy being a teacher and having visitors to our home. I have empathy with my students because I have learnt a number of languages myself. I like to make my students feel very comfortable and at ease in my home by treating them as one of the family so that they learn quickly and fulfil their potential.
Before I became an English teacher, I worked in business using my trilingual skills, as well as teaching piano and French privately, and later as an administrator in the education sector.

No smoking Wifi available at home
No smoking WiFi available

Location information

Nearest airport with transfer cost: Birmingham (BHX) £160

London airport(s) with transfers cost: 

Gatwick (LGW) £ on request

Heathrow (LHR) £ on request

Ask about this teacher

Academic information

Michelle has the Cert TESOL to teach English as a foreign language. She also has a trilingual secretarial diploma from The French Institute in London.

Courses taught

Family information

I am married to Jeremy. He works as a self-employed business consultant and property manager. His hobbies are sailing and classical cars. We have two adult sons. The eldest, Tom, lives and works in London as a lighting designer. The youngest, Ben, has recently finished university and is currently training to be a commercial pilot. We have a very friendly old cat named Tigger.

I am passionate about music. I play the piano and sing in a choir. I am a regular theatre and cinema goer. I like to keep fit by walking and swimming regularly. I am a keen cook and love having friends to dinner. I am also an avid reader of English literature and belong to a local book club.

Michelle’s photos

 

About the teacher’s accommodation

I live in a large house with a garden. It is a converted barn from the 1580s and has many traditional features such as a thatched roof and beams.
We have 2 rooms available for students – one with a double bed and another with a double bed and mezzanine with 2 single beds which is great for families or friends wanting to come and study together.

About the local area

I live in the village of Capel St Mary in the county of Suffolk. The village is 15 minutes away on foot. There are some shops, a post office and a pub. The village is 15 minutes drive or 25 minutes by bus from the city of Ipswich.
Ipswich is on the river not far from the coast and it is nice to walk around the marina and the attractive old town. The city, dating from the 8th century, has many shops, theatres, cinemas, restaurants and pubs as well as a football club.
The ancient town of Colchester is about 20 minutes away by car and is well worth visiting. There are a number of interesting historical buildings dating from Roman times as well as a castle. Other attractions include a zoo, art galleries and museums.
Suffolk has a beautiful coastline with many beaches and villages to explore. Inland, there are picturesque towns such Lavenham and Woodbridge, which are quintessentially English and nice places to stop for a cream tea and shopping. Capel St Mary is just 1 hour away from the historic city of Cambridge or London where you can see all the sights and attractions of the capital.

Excursions you can take with your teacher

Lavenham – Visit to historic Lavenham, see Harry Potter’s house, have afternoon tea.
Cost: Free

Walks – Countryside walks to Flatford Mill, Shotley Peninsula, Alton Water, Nayland, or Arger Fen.
Cost: Free

Ipswich – Ipswich – city, Art School, Transport Museum, Christchurch Mansion.
Cost: Free

Colchester – Colchester – town, Natural History Museum, Hollytrees Museum of Childhood.
Cost: Free

Coast – Coastal towns of Aldeburgh (including craft centre) and Southwold.
Cost: Free

What our students say