Michelle M


North England

About
Michelle M


Hello. I have twenty years of teaching experience, and I am still passionate about sharing new ways to learn with the people I work with, whether they are young adults or adults learning later in life.
I live in a rural area, but within 5 minutes of a market town in the Peak District. My fiance and I have a horse, three dogs and we keep chickens, so have lots of fresh eggs!
The house is an old farmhouse, with stables attached, and paddocks for the horse and the chickens. We are close to a bus route (5 minute walk), and are on the edge of Okeover Park for walking into the Peak District.

No smoking Private bathroom available Wifi available at home Teacher pick-up from airport
No smoking Private bathroom WiFi available Teacher transfer

Location information

Location: Okeover, Staffordshire | View a map of this location

Nearest airport with transfer cost: Stansted (STN) £140

London airport(s) with transfers cost: 

Gatwick (LGW) £260

Heathrow (LHR) £220

Nearest railway station: Derby Midland Station

Ask about this teacher

Academic information

I qualified as an English and Theatre Studies teacher in 1999.  I have worked in a variety of schools, and been both a classroom teacher and a school leader.  I also undertook post-graduate research at Kent University in Medieval English Literature, and I am currently working towards completion of my doctorate in Clinical Psychology.

Courses taught

Family information

Adam and I are just turning 50, and both enjoy the outdoors, music, walking, and the arts.  We both enjoy creating things – whether that is a pencil drawing, converting a truck to a camper van, or painting landscapes. Adam has an interest in electronics, so is often found inventing something new for us to take to festivals. I horse ride regularly, and our dogs always enjoy a good walk. We are more than happy to share our hobbies with students if they are interested! We are both keen cooks, so often experiment in the kitchen, making both sweet and savoury dishes.

Michelle’s photos

About the teacher’s accommodation

The house is an old farm building, with a large kitchen/sitting area, with a large screen TV to use.  There is a newly fitted shower room, which may be shared if we have another student with us.  The bedroom looks out over the farm yard, with views across the fields past the chicken coop and the horse’s paddock.

 

About the local area

We are on the edge of the Peak District, which has sailing, canoeing, walking. cycling, rock climbing etc. Within the local town there are a range of good independent shops and supermarkets. There is also a leisure centre, with a good swimming pool, There are wild swimming opportunities within a mile of the property, for competent swimmers.

Excursions available with this teacher

Wild Swimming in River Dove/Leisure Centre if bad weather – A picnic by the River Dove. and a paddle or a swim depending on the weather!  There is also a leisure centre for those who prefer indoor swimming.

Cost: Free

Circular Walk of Carsington Water – A beautiful walk around the reservoir (8 miles), across the dam, and a picnic on the banks of the water, watching the boats from the sailing club.

Cost: Free

Gladstone Pottery Museum – Explore the history of the English Pottery industry in workshops and bottle kilns.

Cost: Free

Alton Towers day out – Theme Park visit for whole day, taking a picnic to eat at lunch time.

Cost: £55 entrance ticket for aged 12+

Ice skating – Although Nottingham is an hour’s drive away, it is our nearest ice rink, and a very good facility to use.

Cost: Free