Mary B


South England

About
Mary B


I am a teacher of English as a foreign language. I really enjoy meeting new people from different countries and I am fascinated by differences in cultural outlook. I like sharing my home, which is located in a beautiful area of England, and introducing students to English life. I find that the combination of learning in the teacher’s home and having tailor made lessons is a winning formula, as students make rapid progress with their language skills. Before becoming a home stay teacher, I was a secondary school teacher of French and Spanish for many years and I also ran a home soft furnishing business.

Children at home Horse riding available Wifi available at home
Children at home Horse riding WiFi available

Location information

Location: Horsham, West Sussex | View a map of this location

Nearest airport(s): London Gatwick (LGW) 20 minutes and London Heathrow (LHR) 50 minutes

Nearest railway station: Horsham

Ask about this teacher

Academic information


I am a CELTA teacher of English as a foreign language. I have a degree in French and Spanish. I am a secondary school teacher (PGCE, specialism French and Spanish).

Courses taught

 Family information


I live with my husband, Paul. Paul works in the IT industry. He is very interested in history; classical music; and current affairs. He enjoys cycling and walking in the local countryside. We have three daughters. Our eldest, Ana, is studying French and Spanish at university. She is a lifeguard and is very keen on swimming. She comes home in the vacations. Our second daughter, Issy, is studying Physics at university. She plays the piano and violin in two orchestras and performs in concerts. Our youngest daughter (date of birth: 1998) is passionate about horses. She takes riding lessons and works at the local stables when she is not at school. I enjoy riding and I regularly go for a hack in the local countryside. I also enjoy walking and cycling. I often attend pilates and zumba classes to keep fit. I like baking cakes and cooking traditional British dishes. I am a soft furnisher and I create contemporary textile designs.

Mary’s Photos

About the teacher’s accommodation


I live in a spacious, detached house with a large garden, located in a quiet, residential road.
Horsham a pretty town in the county of West Sussex in south east England.

About the local area


Horsham is a market town located in the middle of beautiful countryside. interesting shops and many restaurants, pubs and tearooms. It is a 15-minute walk into the centre of town. There is a huge park which is nice to explore and in the summer there are live concerts. The busy city of Brighton is 30 minutes away. There are art galleries, museums and many interesting places to visit. It is especially worth visiting the Pavilion, built by George IV in the 18th century, in order to see the stunning architecture. The attractive city of Guildford, is also nearby. There are shops, bars, pubs, restaurants as well as excellent sporting facilities and a cathedral to visit. Local historical houses and buildings well worth a visit. Amongst them is Petworth House; Arundel castle; Chartwell (the home of Winston Churchill) and Bateman’s (the home of Rudyard Kipling). There are also some interesting Roman remains at Fishbourne. London is less than one hour away by train making it an easy day’s excursion to see all the famous sights.

What our students say