Katrin J


South England

About
Katrin J


Welcome to my home in Poole Dorset. I have been living in this wonderful area for 20 years. I am an experienced home tutor and can help you improve your general English or help you prepare for an English exam such as IELTS or Cambridge First or Advanced Certificate. Matching your wants and needs I will provide a course just right for you using effective and stimulating materials. I enjoy teaching juniors and my son and I like meeting people from all over the world.
There is a lot to do and see around here. We have beautiful beaches and there are a lot of shops in Poole and Bournemouth town centre. Buses to Poole and Bournemouth will be right on your doorstep! We also have a car to take you to places you would like to visit.
There is a lovely park with cafes just around the corner and we have cinemas, entertainment centres, swimming pools, football pitches and more to keep you busy. I have books from beginners to advanced level you can read after class or films you can watch to help you improve your English.

No smoking Children at home No pets at home Teacher pick-up from airport Wifi available at home
No smoking Children at home No pets at home Teacher transfer WiFi available

Location information

Location: Poole, Dorset | View a map of this location

Nearest airport with transfer cost: 

London airport(s) with transfers cost: Southampton (SOU) £160

Gatwick (LGW) £ 260

Heathrow (LHR) £ 240

Nearest railway station: Parkstone

Ask about this teacher

Academic information


I hold a BA degree in New Media Production and a CELTA qualification and speak fluent German and some French and Spanish. I have been teaching English for five years now (all levels, one to one| two, adults, juniors as well as exam classes and am currently doing a DELTA course to further develop my teaching skills.

Courses taught

 Family information


I have a son (2001) and he loves sports (volleyball and football), gaming and music. I am in my 40’s and I like music, art, films, walks on the beach and of course teaching English. We are both interested in travelling and like learning about other countries and cultures.I like walks on the beach and sitting in the garden where I can relax or read a book. My son occasionally plays the guitar or the piano.

You can join us for walks on the beach, watch films with us, make music or play computer games with my son or play beach volleyball or football, have picnics with us in the park or on the beach or join us in the garden to relax, read a book or have a chat. We can go shopping together or have a cup of tea or coffee in a cafe. There are lovely cafes and restaurants in the area and we can walk there.

Katrin’s Photos

About the teacher’s accommodation


I live in a ground floor garden flat. There is a bus stop right outside our house. These buses will take you into Poole or Bournemouth. There are local shops and cafes in walking distance.
You can either have your own bedroom (a double bedroom) or share a large room with my son who has a large high sleeper bed in his room. You will share a new modern bathroom with us.

About the local area


There are lovely cafes and restaurants in the area which are just around the corner and in walking distance. A beautiful park as well as local shops are in walking distance. There are buses to shopping centres which take you to Poole or Bournemouth town centre where you can go shopping. Both towns have libraries you can join to borrow books or films. There are lovely parks and beaches around here which are only a 10 minute car ride away. I can take you on day trips to Swanage and Corfe Castle or Wimborne (about a 30 minute car ride away)

Excursions you can take with your teacher

Bournemouth seaside – A visit to a traditional British seaside including a visit to the Bournemouth Pier, a walk along the promenade and a picnic on the beach. After lunch, we will walk through the beautiful Bournemouth Gardens passing by the Pavilion and the Town Hall.

Cost: Free

Upton Country Park, an afternoon trip – Walk around the picturesque Upton country park and the art gallery followed by a drink or snack at the tea rooms.

Cost: Free

Family fun activities – Swimming or ice-skating.

Cost: Free