Eve C


Central England

About
Eve C


Hello! We are a relaxed, active family who live just 6 miles from the historic centre of Cambridge.  We would welcome you into our comfortable spacious home where we can work together to improve your English, encourage you to mix with family & friends and to explore our local area. We have wonderful country walks, safe cycle routes and close to a number of historical buildings & gardens. I enjoy working with students at all levels of English from beginner to advanced. I feel confident that we can provide a fun learning atmosphere and improve your English language skills.

No smoking Children at home Wifi available at home Teacher pick-up from airport Horse riding available
No smoking Children at home WiFi available Teacher transfer Horse riding available

Location information

Location: Longstanton, Cambridgeshire | View a map of this location

Nearest airport(s): London Stansted airport (STN) 45 minutes; London Luton airport (LTN) 65 minutes

Nominated airport(s) for transfers: London Stansted (STN); London Luton airport

London Heathrow transfer supplement: +£60 one-way

Nearest railway station: Cambridge

Ask about this teacher

Academic information

I have a teaching qualification (PGCE) and specialised in teaching horse riding, both theory and practical!  Following this I taught for a short period in Secondary Schools and then trained as an English Language teacher and completed my CELTA in Oxford.  I have taught in Language schools for over 5 years, both in London and Cambridge.

Courses taught

Family information

My husband John and I have both lived abroad and enjoy meeting new people. John is outgoing, friendly and good humoured. He is self-employed and sometimes works from home during the week. He is a volunteer rugby coach on the weekends and a passionate golf player. He has 2 older boys, (1999 & 2002) who live with us for 3 nights a week.  Both boys are very sporty. Our youngest son (2002) will try to engage you in conversation, and play. He will join us on excursions on the weekends or out of school hours so a student who likes children is necessary. My husband’s parents live a few miles away and always enjoy meeting International students. My mother-in-law speaks Greek & French and I’m sure she will happily help with language skills and promote the local region. We are an active family who enjoy outdoor pursuits & we would hope that you would like to join us in all of our activities. We walk our lovely dog twice a day, cycle around the village or drive for short distances to walk along the river in Cambridge or to some lovely other locations near by. I ride a friend’s horse twice a week. As a qualified riding instructor, I could even teach you to horse ride. John would be delighted if you were interested in rugby or golf and he will take you to either get involved and play, or just to watch.

Eve’s photos

About the teacher’s accommodation

We live in a village north of Cambridge, it is a quiet location and our house backs onto fields.  However, Cambridge is growing rapidly and our village is expanding.  We are lucky to still live in such a peaceful location. We have lovely country walks nearby on pavements or around open fields.  Our dog always enjoys a good walk! We have 4 bedrooms, the bedroom available for students is a double or twin room. We have a shared bathroom with a second toilet downstairs.

 

About the local area

We live in a small village just 6 miles north of Cambridge. There are lots of local country walks, good cycle routes and good access to public transport. Both John & myself have a car so will can easily drive to different destinations. Recreation grounds, playgrounds for children and large open spaces are close by. There are gyms and swimming pools close by.

Excursions available with this teacher

Cambridge, visiting the historic colleges and gardens – A visit to Cambridge and access into some of the historic Colleges.  Depending on the season we can ‘punt’ on the River Cam and have a picnic by the river.

Cost: Free

A visit to Ely Cathedral and Ely city centre – A visit to the beautiful historical Ely cathedral is just a 30 minute drive away.  We will walk through the old town centre and learn about the history of the region.

Cost: Free

Anglesey Abbey – A visit to a local beautiful country house and gardens, dating back to 1700 followed by a pub lunch.

Cost: £10-£15

Rugby Game – If this was of interest to a student, my husband is a member and chairman at the local rugby club.  Home games are played on most weekends where you can have a pint or two of beer and cheer on the home team!

Cost: Free

Horse-riding – I have a number of friends with horses.  Sometimes it may be possible to ride or just help brush the horse!  The stables are located near by in lovely country locations, I will be delighted to get you to help out!

Cost: Free