Emma-V-S


Emma-V-S

About
Emma-V-S


Teacher introduction

Hello, my name is Emma. I have been an artist and English teacher for around 30 years. I grew up in my mothers small private Language school in Cambridge, which still is going, and my father was an artist. Two of my five children and I live in the country in a house that is over 300 years old. We have two heavy horses, three dogs and two cats, and a number of doves. The area is very historic and peaceful. There are many places of interest to visit close by, castles and period homes. Our gardens are also large and attractive, a good place to relax and enjoy the country air. Many of our guests walk or jog or ride a bicycle to get fit. They play with the animals or paint and read when they are not studying. We have a good pub in our village, which is a twenty minute walk away. It is a good reward after a full day of learning!
Teacher home details
A 300 year old house and gardens set in miles of farmland. Mentioned in the Doomsday Book as Wike Farm. It is listed so many things are really traditional about the home. Students have access to all the main downstairs rooms, a front room with piano, a library, a dining room and the farm house kitchen. The room available to the student is large, four metres by three metres. It is panelled in the original oak panelling . There is no ensuite, but a bathroom is next door, there are two bathrooms on this floor.
Teacher qualifications text
I have a degree in Fine Art, Printmaking. I hold the CELTA certificate for English Language teaching and I am doing a part time degree course in Herbal medicine. I grow my own herbs and manage our large gardens. Cooking and baking is another activity always happening here!
Teacher about the local area
Within a 15 drive we have sports halls, swimming pools, including outside pools in the summer. We are a 50 minute drive from the beach at Skegness. The horse riding is ten mins away. We have a tennis lawn and trampoline There are plenty of paths to walk and a bird reserve to visit nearby too. This place is a good detox from city life!
Teacher family
Altogether I have five children, but only two are at home fulltime. My youngest daughter is 13, she rides horses, plays music and is a good artist. My next son is 18, he is studying engineering at college, he is good at making things and plays the guitar. The next son lives and studies music and song writing at Bristol School of music. He is usually around in the holidays only, when he is not playing gigs. The two eldest girls live and work away; one in Sheffield and one in NewZealand. We have a very big house that we share with Theresa, a nurse. Tony , a construction worker who returns to his family every weekend, and Petr a HGV driver from the Czech Republic who returns there every 2/3 months. In the farm grounds we have a small English family that live in one of the converted barns, and from Easter to October we have guests staying in our two Hermitages or retreat huts.

Teacher how to get here by public

Our nearest mainline stations are Grantham or Peterborough Our closest airports :East Midlands, Luton or Stanstead. Pick up is no problem at the stations and can be arranged for the airports, since there will be my time away from the home to consider.
Teacher hobbies and interests
Students are welcome to join in drawing and watercolouring. Music, we have a piano, guitars, drums and recorders. To work with the horses. We have bicycles We love playing music / all types We have a lot to maintain in the garden, and working with the herbs. We have doves and chickens. The dogs love to be taken on walks, especially in the woods. We have a boarder collie, Siberian husky and Sharpei, all friendly and protective.
Photos