Emma H


Central England

About
Emma H


Hi, my name is Emma and my family and I would be happy to welcome you to our home. I have been a teacher for 20 years, working mainly in primary school. I specialise in English and would enjoy helping you learn more of our language. We live close to beautiful English countryside but we are also very near a train station for London.

No smoking Children at home Private bathroom available Wifi available at home
No smoking Children at home Private bathroom WiFi available

Location information

Location: Stoke Mandeville, Bucks | View a map of this location

Nearest airport(s): London Heathrow (LHR) 45 minutes

Nominated airport(s) for transfers: London Heathrow (LHR) and London Luton (LTN)

Nearest railway station: Stoke Mandeville

Ask about this teacher

Academic information

I graduated from Warwick University with a BA in English with QTS (qualified teacher status). Since then, I have taught KS2 and KS3 (8-14 years old) and been the Literacy Coordinator of my last 3 schools. I also tutor at home in the evenings.

Courses taught

Family information

We are a very busy, happy family! My husband works nearby as an ICT cyber-security manager. He loves music and sport.
We have 4 daughters who were born between 2001 and 2007. They get along well and are all football crazy! 3 of them play for our local team. They also enjoy baking, playing musical instruments (piano, guitar, drums and ukulele), watching films and socialising with friends. We also have a puppy called Oscar (King Charles Cavalier) who is full of energy and love. We have lots of family and friends who live nearby.

I enjoy meeting friends, going for long walks and watching football. We have season tickets for our local premier league club (Watford FC). Any student would be welcome to join us for matches against the biggest clubs in England!
I also love reading and I belong to a Book Club which you could take part in.

Emma ‘s photos

About the teacher’s accommodation

We live in Stoke Mandeville, which is near the town of Aylesbury. Our family home has 5 bedrooms, a large kitchen, a study, a living room, 3 bathrooms and a long garden.
A visiting student would have their own bedroom (downstairs) with a sofa and TV/DVD. They would also have sole use of a private bathroom with a large sink, bath, toilet and shower.

 

About the local area

We live in Aylesbury which is a busy town with plenty of interesting things to do. There is a cinema, several swimming pools/sports centres, a shopping centre, ten pin bowling and lots of cafes/pubs/restaurants.
We are also near to attractive countryside in the heart of the Chiltern Hills. There are several National Trust properties nearby which we have membership for.
Just a 5 minute walk from our house is a train station with a direct link to London. Within 45 minutes you will be in the centre of the capital!

Excursions available with this teacher

Sightseeing in London – A visit to London to see well-known landmarks such as Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and Tower Bridge (to name but a few options). We will have a picnic lunch in one of the Royal Parks.

Cost: Free

Warner Bros Harry Potter Studios – A great day out where we can experience the magic of Harry Potter and go behind the scenes at the studios where it all began!

Cost: £20

Visit to Waddesdon Manor – A day exploring this stunning house and grounds in the style of a 16th-century French chateau. We can see the fine collection of art and antiquities acquired by the Rothschild family before enjoying a picnic lunch in the formal gardens or parkland

Cost: Free

Visit to Oxford – Exploring the historic University town and its thriving centre.

Cost: £10

Family activities – Choose from swimming, ten pin bowling, cinema, premier league football match, ice skating or horse riding.

Cost: Free