Debbie PW


South England

About
Debbie PW


Hello! My husband, daughter and I live in beautiful Dorset, about 5 miles inland from Poole and close to the picturesque town of Wimborne Minster.
We have the best of both worlds right on our doorstep – beautiful sandy beaches and lovely green countryside and forest. The larger towns of Bournemouth, Southampton and Salisbury are not too far away either.
I am a Foreign Languages / EFL teacher and have taught for 15 years. My main interests are theatre and dance and as a family we enjoy bike riding, swimming and travelling.
We offer a comfortable, modern home with your own en-suite bedroom and separate study area.

No smoking Children at home No pets at home Private bathroom available Horse riding available Teacher pick-up from airport Wifi available at home
No smoking Children at home No pets at home Private bathroom Horse riding Teacher transfer WiFi available

Location information

Location: Wimborne, Dorset | View a map of this location

Nearest airport(s): Bournemouth (BOU) 30 minutes, London Heathrow (LHR) 2 hours

Nominated airport(s) for transfers: Southampton (SOU)

Heathrow airport supplement: +£40 one-way

Nearest railway station: Poole

Ask about this teacher

Academic information


I am a secondary school teacher (PGCE MFL) and also have the Trinity College Certificate in TESOL. I have been teaching for 14 years, prior to that I worked in industry and worked in Spain. I have also worked in France and Germany.

Courses taught

 Family information


I live with my husband and we are both in our 40s. We have one daughter (2013) and she loves gymnastics, dancing, stories and talking! Our families live in Somerset and Derbyshire and there may be opportunities to visit them. We don’t have any pets due to certain allergies to animal fur.

I enjoy dancing and theatre. I would happily take you to a dance class with me or go and watch something at the theatre or cinema. I enjoy days out and sight-seeing too! My husband is a more serious bike rider and he also does yoga – a class which you could go along to if interested.

Debbie’s Photos

About the teacher’s accommodation


We live in a chalet bungalow. The entire upstairs would be for your use, which includes a double bedroom, en-suite shower room and separate study. There are a few shops, a coffee shop and a couple of pubs within walking distance. There is also meant to be a leisure centre opening this summer just up the road.

About the local area


We live in a semi-rural area but there are good bus / train links to the larger towns. Horse-riding is popular here and there are plenty of exercise classes in nearby leisure centres which also have public swimming pools and gyms.
There is a climbing wall in Poole and a tennis club in Wimborne. There are theatres in Wimborne, Poole and Bournemouth and a multiplex cinema a few miles away.
The main sandy beaches are between Bournemouth and Poole and of course the New Forest for walking and exploring is only 15 miles away. For spectacular coastal walks the Purbecks and Jurassic Coast are only about 10 miles away.

Excursions you can take with your teacher

Bournemouth seaside afternoon trip – A visit to a traditional British seaside including a visit to the Bournemouth Pier, a walk along the promenade and a refreshment in a cafe or on the beach. There will also be a shopping opportunity.

Cost: Free

Afternoon visit to Kingston Lacey & a cream tea – Walk around the beautiful Kingston Lacey Estate, house and gardens. A traditional Dorset cream tea.

Cost: Free

An evening visit to the theatre / cinema – Opportunity to see a theatre production or film at one of the local theatres / screens.

Cost: £10

Day trip to Bath – A chance to see the beautiful city of Bath.

Cost: Entry costs to museums (if desired)