Claire T


Central England

About
Claire T


My name is Claire and I live with my husband and my four-year-old daughter in the beautiful Cambridgeshire countryside. As a family, we love to keep active and enjoy walks by the local lakes and woodland. We also love baking cakes and playing games. I have been teaching for ten years and specialise in the early teaching of reading and writing. I have taught children of many different nationalities during my career including children from Europe and Asia.  We would love to welcome you into our family.

No smoking No pets at home Children at home Wifi available at home
No smoking No pets Children at home WiFi available

Location information

Location: Cambourne, Cambridgeshire | View a map of this location

Nearest airport(s): London Stansted Airport (STN) 50 minutes; London Luton Airport (LTN) 60 minutes;

Nominated airport(s) for transfers: London Stansted (STN); London Luton Airport (LTN)

London Heathrow transfer supplement: +£60 one-way

Nearest railway station: Cambridge

Ask about this teacher

Academic information

I am a fully qualified teacher and hold a Postgraduate Certificate of Education. I have taught a range of ages in both large and small schools including children with special educational needs and English as an additional language. I have also worked as a tutor for children on a 1:1 basis.

Courses taught

Family information

Like me, my husband has also been teaching for ten years. We are both aged in our early 30s and like to think of ourselves as being fun and active in our family life.  We enjoy visiting local places as a family as well as playing games together. Our daughter is four and will begin school in September 2017. She loves all things creative – dancing, drawing, painting and cooking. She is very sociable and loves the company of other children. My parents also live close by and we often visit them together. They have two friendly horses and a very lovable dog who loves to be stroked and played with. My Grandparents are also close by and we love to visit them from time to time. Within our local community we have friends with children of different ages who we often meet up with for playdates. I love to cook for my family and always prepare a home-cooked meal. I always welcome an extra pair of hands in the kitchen and my daughter loves to help me especially with baking! I also love to take photographs of my family and the local countryside. To keep fit and healthy, I enjoy walking and running in the local area.

Claire’s photos

About the teacher’s accommodation

Our home is situated in a lovely countryside village outside of Cambridge. It has many shops, cafes, parks and other facilities within walking distance. We are lucky to have a beautiful lake just a few minutes walk away. In the room, you will have a bed, desk, drawers and hanging space for your clothes. The bathroom is shared.

 

About the local area

We live in a village a short distance from Cambridge. The village is set in beautiful countryside with many lakes and woodland walks.  There are also four very well-equipped children’s parks and a sports centre which hold dance/sports activities for all ages. We have a doctors, dentist, library, swimming pool and several shops and cafes within a short walk of our house. The university city of Cambridge is a short drive away where it is lovely to visit the colleges and museums or take a punting tour along the river. The city often hosts a range of festivals including arts, music, food and family events.

Excursions available with this teacher

Trip to the historic city of Cambridge – We will walk through the historic city past the famous King’s College Chapel and to the river.  We will look around the historic market square and then have afternoon tea in the city.

Cost: Free

A visit to Wimpole Hall Estate –A visit to the beautiful Wimpole Estate.  We will walk through the grounds and visit either the traditional home farm or the beautiful historic mansion and gardens – students choice.

Cost: Free

Family fun activities – Students choice of swimming, soft play or ten pin bowling. A trip out for the whole family.

Cost: Free

River tour of historic city of Cambridge (day trip) – We will take a river tour along the River Cam in Cambridge, learning about the many colleges found in Cambridge as well as admiring their beautiful surroundings. We will then walk through the city and stopping for a picnic lunch.

Cost: £15

Museum trip to Cambridge – A trip to the Fitzwilliam or Sedwick museum in Cambridge.  The Fitzwilliam holds a range of beautiful paintings and sculptures as well as an impressive Ancient Egyptians exhibition amongst other things. At the Sedwick museum we will learn about dinosaurs!

Cost: Free