Cate B

Central England

Cate B

My family and I would like to welcome to you to our home where you can enjoy learning English and experience British family life with us. I have 3 children and my husband is a farmer. We live near our family farm and can show you the animals and cook you our organic vegetables. We can take you to Oxford and show you the beautiful buildings. I have lived in Taiwan, Japan, Italy & the US and we all really enjoy meeting new people.

No smoking No pets at home Children at home Wifi available at home
No smoking No pets Children at home WiFi available

Location information

Location: Thame, Oxfordshire | View a map of this location

Nearest airport(s): London Heathrow Airport (LHR) 40 min; London Luton Airport (LTN) 60 min

Nominated airport(s) for transfers: London Heathrow Airport (LHR); London Luton Airport (LTN)

Nearest railway station: Haddenham & Thame Parkway; Oxford

Ask about this teacher

Academic information

I have a CELTA qualification and I taught English in Taiwan (3 months), Japan (2 years) and Italy (3 months). Since 2004 I have taught English in London and Oxford to people from all over the world. Last year I tutored two Japanese children for 3 months before they started school in the UK.

Courses taught

Family information

I have 2 sons and 1 daughter. The boys enjoy playing Lego, riding their bikes, reading, computer games, football and tennis. My daughter loves dancing and we all like music and singing. My husband, George is an organic farmer and he works with his father and step-mother at the farm, near our house. We would be able to show you the farm and you can meet more of our family. I really enjoy cooking and would like to teach you how to make traditional afternoon tea, cakes and a traditional roast dinner etc. We also enjoy picnics on sunny days and we like visiting historical buildings in Oxfordshire. I enjoy going to the theatre and going to concerts. We can go to the farm and meet the animals. You can also help us pick vegetables!

Cate’s photos

About the teacher’s accommodation

We live in a detached house at the end of a road, It is very private and we have a large garden around the house. You can walk to our farm from our house along a country lane. There are 4 bedrooms (2 upstairs & 2 downstairs) and the guest bedroom is next to a large shared bathroom. The bedroom is spacious and has a comfortable bed, a desk, a wardrobe and a lots of books in it.


About the local area

Oxford is 12 km from our house. There is an interesting art museum called the Ashmolean and a Natural History museum which are free to visit. Oxford has many shops and is a great city to walk around as there are so many beautiful buildings. If you like Harry Potter you can visit some of the places where the movies were filmed. You can also go punting on the River Thames in Oxford or enjoy a picnic on the river bank. Thame is a smaller, traditional market town about 6 km from our house. It is very pretty, has traditional pubs and cafes and every Tuesday there is a busy market. London is 50 minutes by train from Haddenham & Thame parkway station. Blenheim Palace is 30 mins by car and a wonderful stately home.