Carmel O


Republic of Ireland

About
Carmel O


I enjoy teaching English – I like to impart knowledge and to welcome people into my home. I worked for many years in business, primarily the Information Technology Industry but as a Human Resource/Training Manager. I like to travel to other countries to experience the culture and meet people. I love to play golf and am a member of Bray Golf Club. I enjoy gardening, walking and Opera and have very varied interests.
I live in a 2-bedroom house in Killiney situated in Killiney Bay, a suburb of Dublin city centre. It’s a very desirable area as its close to the sea, to the mountains and to the city. I have a cat called Coco Chanel. I live alone.

No smoking Private bathroom available Teacher pick-up from airport Wifi available at home
No smoking Private bathroom Teacher transfer WiFi available

Location information

Location: Killiney, Dublin | View a map of this location

Nearest airport(s): Dublin (DUB) 45 minutes

Nearest railway station: Killiney

Ask about this teacher

Academic information


I have been teaching English for more than 10 years in my home. I have a TEFL Certificate. I have worked in business for over 15 years and have a background in Human Resources and Training. I have worked in Microsoft, the Bank of Ireland and Broadcom to mention just a few companies. I have diplomas in HR and Training.

Courses taught

 Family information


I live alone with just a cat called Coco. I have many friends and many interests and I enjoy taking students out after class to art galleries or to museums or just walking in the lush Irish countryside.

I am a member of a Wicklow Nordic Walking Group and a very active member of Bray Golf Club. I play Bridge (cards) and I enjoy gardening, reading, pilates, computers, and just walking on Killiney beach which is 5 mins from my home. Students can join my walking group or my art lectures and I can organise golf for them in my club.

Carmel’s Photos

About the teacher’s accommodation


My house has a small walled garden, a lovely sun room and the student can choose a private ensuite bathroom. The beach is 5 minutes away and the train station is 15 minutes. There are a few small shops and a pub in the area but generally it’s residential.

About the local area


As I live between the mountains and the sea there is a lot to do in the area. Walking, swimming, horse riding, tennis, cycling, a local library. There is a local sports area and gym which also has a swimming pool at a very reasonable price.

Plenty of pubs and restaurants are available as the DART train and the Luas all run from this area to the heart of the city of Dublin in 30 mins.

Excursions you can take with your teacher

Dun Laoghaire – Attend a free lecture at the library – cultural, musical or art. Then have a walk on the famous Dun Laoghaire Pier or along the Metals or into the People’s Park.

Cost: Free (apart from the train journey)

Glendalough – Visit Glendalough, is one of the most important sites of monastic ruins in Ireland. The two lakes which gave the valley its name came into existence thousands of years ago after the Ice Age, providing wonderful walks along the lakes and over the mountains.

Cost: Free

National Musuem of Ireland – Visit the National Musuem of Ireland – similar to other museums in the UK or in France.

Cost: Free

National Art Gallery – A small but very important gallery similar to other major cities in Europe.

Cost: Free

Johnny Foxes Pub (highest in Ireland) – Johnny Foxes is famous for Irish dancing and music. It includes dinner and the show and is well worth a visit.

Cost: €40 including dinner and the show.