Brenda L


South England

About
Brenda L


My name is Bren and I have lots of years of experience welcoming students to my home. I am passionate about languages and have been teaching them since 1993. I love animals and have a very large, friendly dog at home and a piebald horse in a field nearby. Although I live alone, I have a very large family including  5 grandchildren. I am able to dedicate myself to the teaching and entertainment of my students.

No smoking Private bathroom available Wifi available at home Teacher pick-up from airport
No smoking Private bathroom WiFi available Teacher transfer

Location information

Location: Southampton, Hampshire | View a map of this location

Nearest airport with transfer cost: Southampton (SOU) £80

London airport(s) with transfers cost: 

Gatwick (LGW) £200

Heathrow (LHR) £160

Nearest railway station: Sholing/Southampton

Ask about this teacher

Academic information

After studying modern languages at Southampton university I completed a post graduate teaching course at Westminster college, University of Oxford.During my time at University I taught English as a foreign language and since university I have been teaching languages, Maths and Science at secondary schools to students between 11 and 18 years.

Courses taught

Family information

I live alone but I have a big family who mostly live nearby. My five grandchildren are aged between 5 and 14 years and they visit often. I would like to welcome students who love animals as I spend a lot of time with my dog and my horse. Students would be included in all my day to day activities as part of the family. My interests include quilting, reading, animals, languages, horse-riding, swimming and walking my dog. I would naturally include any student in any or all of these activities.

Brenda’s photos

About the teacher’s accommodation

I live in a long, narrow house which celebrates its 100 year birthday inn 2020. On the ground floor are the dining and living rooms, the kitchen and the annex with a cloakroom where I often work. On the first floor are three bedrooms and two bathrooms. One of the bathrooms is exclusively for the use of the student and has a newly installed drench shower. On the top floor is the very large 4th bedroom which can be used as a hobby room for the student. There are paints, card, scissors, glue etc

About the local area

Southampton in a large city on the south coast famous for the cruise liners that travel all over the world from this port. I live within walking distance (15 minutes) of the city centre or there is an 8 – 9 minute bus ride to Southampton. We have the spitfire and the Titanic museums to mention just two. Opposite my house there is a park with beautiful flower gardens, woodland a football pitch and a basketball court. On the other side of the park is a sports centre and, further along there is the shore where people take part in water sports. There is also a mini golf course on the sea front. From here you can see the cruise ships and the Isle of Wight.

Excursions available with this teacher

Oxygen Trampolining – The chance to learn or improve trampolining skills. The Oxygen centre is only a few minutes drive away.

Cost: Free

Portsmouth Historic Dockyard (20 minutes drive) – Visit Nelson’s flagship the Victory, Henry V111’s ship HMS Warrior, submarine museum or the Spinnaker tower. One the seafront is a typically English fair with fish and chips, rock and buckets and spades for sale.

Cost: Varies up to £30

New Forest National Park  (25 minutes drive) – The beautiful New Forest with animals roaming freely. Quaint historical towns. Picnic.

Cost: Free

Museums – Visit to local museums.

Cost: Free

Stonehenge – Visit to the historical monument. 45 minutes driving time. Then a visit to my sister’s quaint cottage for a traditional English meal and a chance to swim and/or fish in the River Avon.

Cost: £11.70 admission to the monument.